Wayne Rayfield. Photo: Courtesy
Wayne Rayfield. Photo: Courtesy

By Andrea Swayne

The Dana Point Historical Society has announced its choice for the annual Pat Plepler Citizenship Award is Wayne Rayfield.

Upon his retirement from World Bank and 1994 move to Dana Point, Rayfield commenced his longtime civic involvement, fighting the proposed airport at El Toro. Since then Rayfield has served as a former mayor and city councilman, chairman of the Ocean Institute Board and is currently serving his second term as president of the South Coast Water District Board of Directors.

The family of Pat Plepler, who passed away in 2007, made a donation to the Historical Society to create the community award in her memory, for recognition of individuals or groups whose active citizenship have made a difference in the city, as Plepler did.

The award will be presented at the Historical Society’s annual meeting and potluck dinner, beginning at 6 p.m. on Jan. 20 at the Community House, 24642 San Juan Avenue. The public is invited to attend but asked to bring a potluck dish to serve six to eight people.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>