The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Compiled by Steve Breazeale

The seventh annual Rainbow Sandals Gerry Lopez Battle of the Paddle was held at Salt Creek Beach in Dana Point for the first time in the event’s history from Oct. 4-5. The move from Doheny State Beach, where the event had been held in years past, caused many to learn the new layout on the fly.

Nevertheless, hundreds of the world’s most elite stand-up paddleboarders, and amateurs alike, descended upon the Dana Point shoreline to compete over the two-day stretch.

The Battle of the Paddle also features one of the largest prize purses on the SUP racing calendar. This year’s total purse was over $26,000.

There were several strong showings from Dana Point and Capistrano Beach residents at the event.

Capistrano Beach’s Chris Koerner finished fifth in the Men’s Distance Paddleboard and Dana Point’s Slater Trout placed ninth in the Men’s Elite SUP Elite race.

Scroll to the bottom to watch a video of the day’s events.

Here is a list of the top three finishers in each division, separated by gender:

Men Distance Paddleboard Individual
1. Canon Smith 2. Max First 3. Ismael Garcia

Women Distance Paddleboard Individual
1. Jo Ambrosi

Men Distance SUP Elite
1. Danny Ching 2. Travis Grant 3. Beau O’Brian

Women Distance SUP Elite
1. Lina Augaitis 2. Annabel Anderson 3. Fiona Wylde

Men Distance SUP Individual
1. Rob Rojas 2. Brennan Rose 3. Bart De Zwart

Women Distance SUP Individual
1. Karla Gilbert 2. Silvia Mecucci 3. Marie Buchanan

Men Elite SUP Elite
1. Kai Lenny 2. Jake Jensen 3. Danny Ching

Women Elite SUP Elite
1. Candice Appleby 2. Lina Augaitis 3. Annabel Andersen

Elite SUP Relay
1. Team Go Big or Go Huge 2. Team Lahui Kai 3. Team Rouge

Boys SUP 8-Under
1. Blake Scheel 2. Curren Springer 3. Dash Springer

Girls SUP 8-Under
1. Shyanne McWilliams 2. Abby Baker 3. Malaya Ring

Boys SUP 9-11
1. Jonas Graham 2. Matix Springer 3. Keagan Lamar

Girls SUP 9-11
1. Payton Springer 2. Belah Ellis 3. Zoe Carter

Boys SUP 12-14
1. Ryland Hart 2. Patrick Cleveland 3. Ryan Funk

Girls SUP 12-14
1. Erika Benitez 2. Isabella Gomez 3. Kalia Alexiou

Men Prone Paddleboard
1. Jack Bark 2. Shane Scoggins 3. Brian Murphy

Women Prone Paddleboard
1. Julia Garcia 2. Morgan Hoesterey 3. Jo Ambrosi

SUP Relay
1. Team 15! 2. Team Boga Paddleboards 3. Team McPhillips

Check out video from the event, by Tony Tribolet, below:

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (1)

  • I read this article and it seems that you have left out winners from the Open Paddle that paddled their hearts out and placed in their divisions on race day. I think if you are going to recognize the winners, that each division should have been recognized in this article.

    A proud mother of a first place winner in his division!!!!

comments (1)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>