The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By Daniel Ritz

In the fifth hour of a jam-packed City Council agenda, City Council named Richard Viczorek as the next mayor of Dana Point to lead the city in 2018. Joe Muller was named mayor pro tem.

Viczorek was elected to Dana Point City Council on Nov. 4, 2014, and most recently served as the city’s mayor pro tem in 2016. Muller was also elected to City Council in November of 2014. This will be his first-time service as mayor pro tem.

This reorganization sets Council back into what was recognized as an established traditional rotation where the mayor pro tem becomes the next mayor. Viczorek held the position of mayor pro tem in 2016, but did not get selected for mayor after Debra Lewis and Paul Wyatt were named mayor and mayor pro tem, respectively.

The next City Council meeting will be held on Jan. 16.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>