The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By The Dana Point Times

The Measure M Taxpayers Oversight Committee is holding its 22nd annual public hearing on Measure M on Tuesday, February 12, at Orange County Transportation Authority headquarters. Members of the public are welcome to join in on discussion and submit their comments in regards to Measure M projects.

Measure M is a half-cent sales tax for transportation improvements administered by OCTA. The tax was approved by voters in 1990 and renewed by a nearly 70-percent vote in 2006.

The 11-member committee is independent of OCTA and was formed to monitor OCTA’s use of Measure M funds, approve changes to the Measure M plan and holding annual public hearings on the expenditure of funds generated by Measure M. Since it was approved, Measure M has contributed more than $4 billion in transportation improvements.

The hearing begins at 6 p.m. OCTA headquarters are located at 600 South Main Street in Orange.

To provide comments about Measure M, visit For more information about Measure M or the Taxpayers Oversight Committee, visit

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>