The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Shorecliffs Middle School surf team takes big win Feb. 21 in Oceanside

Hagan Johnson of Shorecliffs Middle School was the Boys Shortboard division winner at the Feb. 21 SSS contest in Oceanside. The Shorecliffs team also came out on top. Photo: Sheri Crummer
Hagan Johnson of Shorecliffs Middle School was the Boys Shortboard division winner at the Feb. 21 SSS contest in Oceanside. The Shorecliffs team also came out on top. Photo: Sheri Crummer

By Andrea Swayne 

With cool temperatures and an overcast sky lingering for most of the day, Orange County middle school surfers met on Feb. 21 at the Oceanside Pier for event No. 3 of the Scholastic Surf Series. Waves were in the 2- to 3-foot range. Although a south wind came up in the morning, the waves were never blown out and remained contestable throughout the event.

Originally scheduled as event No. 4, the cancellation of the January San Clemente Pier event made this stop the third of the SSS season.

Shorecliffs Middle School was the big winner of the day, topping runner-up Thurston Middle School, 265 to 201 in team competition.

Dominating in Boys Shortboard, they took five of the six available finalist spots, as well as wins, in both Division 1 and Division 2 competition. Hagan Johnson was the Division 1 winner and Deisel Rathgeber won Division 2. Other Division 1 winners were Ethan Mudge in Boys Longboard and Kirra Pinkerton in Girls Shortboard. Dylan Clemens was the Division 2 Boys Longboard winner and, also in Division 2, Malia Mauch took top honors in both Girls Shortboard and Girls Longboard.

“The talent pool is very deep among OC middle school teams and they’re amazing to watch,” said Carolyn Krammer, competition director. “Consistent surfing with aggressive maneuvers showed that these kids have really grasped the criteria and are surfing up to it. Even though the conditions weren’t perfect the surfers really rose to the challenge.”

Niguel Hills, Vista Del Mar, Bernice Ayer, Marco Forster and Don Juan Avila teams came in third through seventh, respectively.

Event No. 4—the makeup for the January San Clemente contest—is set for Saturday, Feb. 28 in Huntington Beach at Goldenwest Street.


Scholastic Surf Series, Orange County Middle School Division 1 and 2, Event No. 3, Feb. 21, Oceanside, Pier



  1. Shorecliffs 265
  2. Thurston 201
  3. Niguel Hills 104
  4. Vista Del Mar 90
  5. Bernice Ayer 84
  6. Marco Forster 81
  7. Don Juan Avila 49


  1. Hagan Johnson, Shorecliffs
  2. Kade Matson, Shorecliffs
  3. Ryan Martin, Shorecliffs
  4. Kai McPhillips, Shorecliffs
  5. Taj Lindblad, Shorecliffs
  6. Jonah Clark, Thurston


  1. Ethan Mudge, Shorecliffs
  2. Jameson Roller, Thurston
  3. Ben Kappes, Niguel Hills
  4. Bryce Mattox, Niguel Hills
  5. Kai McPhillips, Shorecliffs
  6. Barrett Miller, Shorecliffs


  1. Kirra Pinkerton, Shorecliffs
  2. Kayla Coscino, Thurston
  3. Kelly Smith, Thurston
  4. Claire Kelly, Thurston
  5. Lexi Alston, Bernice Ayer
  6. Alexis Morgan, Shorecliffs


  1. Liv Stokes, Thurston
  2. Alexa Ross, Vista Del Mar
  3. Kirra Pinkerton, Shorecliffs
  4. Rachel Hall, Marco Forster
  5. Kendal Osorio, Marco Forster
  6. Lola Fisher, Thurston


  1. Hayden Stein, Niguel Hills
  2. Cole Fink, Thurston
  3. Anthony Smetona, Shorecliffs
  4. Nolan Tobias, Shorecliffs
  5. Liam Gillon, Marco Forster
  6. Olaf Trevilla, Bernice Ayer



  1. Shorecliffs 129
  2. Thurston 95
  3. Dana Point 41
  4. Bernice Ayer 34
  5. Marco Forster 33
  6. Don Juan Avila 7


  1. Diesel Rathgeber, Shorecliffs
  2. Noah Brown, Shorecliffs
  3. Raiki Nishida, Shorecliffs
  4. Liam Mateer, Shorecliffs
  5. Jett North, Thurston
  6. Eli Crane, Shorecliffs


  1. Dylan Clemens, Shorecliffs
  2. Matt Blunk, Thurston
  3. Hunter Stovesand, Dana Point
  4. Brandon Davis, Marco Forster
  5. Trenton Coleman, Shorecliffs
  6. Alex Wick, Thurston


  1. Malia Mauch, Shorecliffs
  2. Grace Fink, Thurston
  3. Destiny Thompson, Thurston
  4. Coral Nordheim, Dana Point
  5. Lauren O’Neill, Shorecliffs
  6. Grace Winter, Bernice Ayer


  1. Malia Mauch, Shorecliffs
  2. Cici Stewart, Thurston
  3. Avery Acquanita, Dana Point
  4. Hannah Pierce, Bernice Ayer
  5. Camille Hardgrave, Marco Forster

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>