The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

The Scholastic Surf Series, a Division of the Western Surfing Association, completed its third year of competition last Saturday, May 11 and Sunday, May 12 with the Middle School State Championships at Oceanside Harbor.

Twenty three teams from Santa Cruz to San Diego middle schools competed in waves ranging from three to five feet on Saturday and two to three feet on Sunday. Outstanding performances from Shorecliffs and Marco Forster middle schools earned the teams top State Championship honors.

Results: Scholastic Surf Series (SSS) Middle School State Championships 2013, May 4-5, Oceanside Harbor

Overall Team: 1. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 344; 2. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 218.5; 3. Oak Crest, Encinitas, 206.5; 4. Aviara Oaks, Carlsbad, 191.5; 5. Earl Warren, Encinitas, 174; 6. Mission Hill, Santa Cruz, 173.

Boys Team: 1. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 198; 2. Oak Crest, Encinitas, 137; 3. Earl Warren, Encinitas, 99; 4. Thurston, Laguna Beach, 91; 5. Aviara Oaks, Carlsbad, 84.5; 6. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 72.

Boys LB Team: 1. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 53; 2. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 43; 3. Diegueno, Encinitas, 39; 4. Oak Crest, Encinitas, 33; 5. Valley, Carlsbad, 30; 6. Mission Hill, Santa Cruz, 28.

Girls Team: 1. Aviara Oaks, Carlsbad, 33; 2. Mission Hill, Santa Cruz, 31; 3. Earl Warren, Encinitas, 27; 4. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 24; 5. Niguel Hills, Laguna Niguel, 23; 6. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 21.

Girls Lb Team: 1. Marco Forster, Dana Point, 44; 2. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 36; 3. Mission Hill, Santa Cruz, 26; 4. Aviara Oaks, Carlsbad, 25; 5. Valley, Carlsbad, 21; 6. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 19.

Coed Bodyboard Team: 1. Shorecliffs, San Clemente, 50; 2. Bernice Ayer, San Clemente, 42.5; =3. Diegueno, Encinitas, 33; =3. Valley, Carlsbad, 33; 5. Niguel Hills, Laguna Niguel, 32; 6. Half Moon Bay, 26.

Scholastic Surfer Award by Body Glove Wetsuits: Meg Roh, Marco Forster.

Sportsmanship Award by SUPERBrand Surfboards: Luke Overin, Bernice Ayer.

Coaches: 1. Giancarlos Uraia, Diegueno; 2. Erik Edwards, Santa Barbara Middle School; 3. Justin Spadafora, Earl Warren; 4. Joe Hohenester, Bernice Ayer; 5. Darren Madrigal, Thurston.

Coaches Lb: 1. Brian McEvilly, Valley; 2. Mike Takayama, Bernice Ayer; 3. Darren Collins, Aviara Oaks; 4. Patrick Derry, Marco Forster; 5. Gil Amthor, Diegueno.

Boys: 1. Kei Kobayashi, Shorecliffs; 2. Jordy Collins, Aviara Oaks; 3. Zach McCormick, Oak Crest; 4. Sam Coffey, Mission Hill; 5. Ethan Mudge, Shorecliffs; 6. Ryan Martin, Shorecliffs.

Boys Lb: 1. Jacob Atwood, Shorecliffs; 2. Nathan Strom, Valley; 3. Trevor Anderberg, Diegueno; 4. Fisher Quigley, Bernice Ayer; 5. Koby Gilchrist, Oak Crest; 6. Grayson Amthor, Diegueno

Girls: 1. Ashley Beeson, Niguel Hills; 2. Tera Richardson, Shorecliffs; 3. Alani Helm, Mission Hill; 4. Sydney Tisdel, Aviara Oaks; 5. Kristen Noonan, Earl Warren; 6. Autumn Hays, Mission Hill.

Girls Lb: 1. Teresa O’Connor, Marco Forster; 2. Autumn Hays, Mission Hill; 3. Meg Roh, Marco Forster; 4. Maya Harrison, Bernice Ayer; 5. Kalea Johnson, Half Moon Bay; 6. Gabriella McCormick, Bernice Ayer.

Coed Bodyboard: 1. Charley Rouse, Valley; 2. Luke Overin, Bernice Ayer; 3. Trevor Anderberg, Diegueno; 4. Kien Feiner, Shorecliffs; 5. Tommy Rinaldini, Niguel Hills; 6. Derek Reynolds, Bernice Ayer.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>