Dana Point Times

Twelve racers from the south Orange County cities of Dana Point, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano were registered for today’s Boston Marathon, where two explosions killed two and injured dozens near the finish line.

Eight of the twelve runners, including Alejandro Castillo and Eric Petersen from Dana Point, finished the race before the 4:09:44 mark when the first explosion went off at about 3 p.m. EST, according to race results provided by the Boston Athletic Association.

Local Runners Registered for Today’s Boston Marathon:  

David Arrone, San Juan Capistrano, No times posted

Robyn Burgoon, San Juan Capistrano, 03:52:42

Alejandro Castillo, Dana Point, 03:20:29

Corey Collins, San Juan Capistrano, 03:14:10

Kerry Deputy, San Juan Capistrano, 02:11:31 (Half-marathon time)

Jon Knight, San Clemente, No times posted

Carla McAlister, San Clemente, 03:00:08

Claron Mcalister, San Clemente, 03:11:42

Sommer Miller, San Clemente, No times posted

Eric Petersen, Dana Point, 02:58:32

Margie Prescott, San Juan Capistrano, 03:28:46

Jeffrey Young, San Juan Capistrano, 03:21:50

San Juan race participant Kerry Deputy did not finish the race, but is safe and has contacted her family, according to Patch, who also reports that David Aronne did not participate in the race. San Clemente runner Carla McAlister was confirmed safe by her daughter, Catrina McAlister.

The near back to back explosions occurred within minutes of one another around 3 p.m., about 50 to 100 feet apart, according to authorities.

Cell phone service was shut down in the city of Boston to prevent any remote detonations of explosives.

The Orange County Sheriff’s Department is on heightened alert, according to a press release.

“Our deputies will have an increased presence at local sporting/entertainment venues and other larger gathering places,” Sheriff Sandra Hutchens said in a statement.



About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>