The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

San Clemente Ocean Festival contestants navigate the surf during a paddleboard competition. Photo: Eric Heinz
San Clemente Ocean Festival contestants navigate the surf during a paddleboard competition. Photo: Eric Heinz

Dana Point Times

The 2015 edition of the San Clemente Ocean Festival was definitely a unique one, with many of the annual water festival’s first-day events cancelled and re-scheduled to take place July 19 due to weather. Nevertheless, many of the area’s top lifeguards, swimmers, surf groms and stand-up paddleboarders flocked to the beach just north of the San Clemente Pier to take part in the annual competition.

Here is a breakdown of the top finishers from several of the event’s larger competitions, separated by age and gender. For full results, visit

One-Mile Ocean Swim

Top Men’s Division

  1. Yann De Fabrique 2. Shane Asbury 3. Hanno Rosner and Kaikea Wilinski

Top Women’s Division

  1. Isabella Siering 2. Nerice Smith 3. Kailey Makuta

Sport of Kings

Men’s Division

  1. Giorgio Gomez 2. Dave Boehne 3. Jeramie Vaine

Women’s Division

  1. Shae Foudy 2. Alex Higginson 3. Lexi Alston

Rescue Relay

Co-ed Division

  1. Christina Boring/Unknown 2. Danika Thompson/Ian Kos 3. Jeffrey Kennedy/Sara Kennedy

Men’s Division

  1. Guy Kinsey/Zachary Richter 2. Shane Asbury/Joel Simondson 3. Patrick Jacobson/Hayden Hemmens

Women’s Division

  1. Carter Graves/Tracy Didinger 2. Laurel Kistler/Jenna Solberg 3. Nerice Smith/Kira Kinsey

Dory Race #1

  1. James Bray/Dane DeBoer 2. Mitch Kahn/Rob Pelkey 3. Chris Coy/Camden Holden


Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>