The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Gunner Day of San Clemente caught a big air in Boys U14 competition Sunday at the WSA Midget Smith Memorial Pier Rat Challenge at the San Clemente Pier. Photo by Sheri Crummer
Gunner Day of San Clemente caught a big air in Boys U14 competition Sunday at the WSA Midget Smith Memorial Pier Rat Challenge at the San Clemente Pier. Photo by Sheri Crummer

The WSA hosted the annual memorial event in conjunction with regular season Event No. 6

By Andrea Swayne

The San Clemente-based Western Surfing Association hosted its annual Midget Smith Memorial Pier Rat Challenge in conjunction with event No. 6 of the season, January 5 and 6 at the San Clemente Pier.

Despite frigid temperatures Saturday and rain on Sunday, more than 300 competitors from the Under 9 Micro Groms to the Legends enjoyed shoulder to overhead waves—depending on the size of the competitor.

On Saturday, a Friends of Midget division ran concurrently with the Open Men’s division. The day also included a paddle out in memory of legendary shaper, judge and surfer Jeffrey “Midget” Smith who passed away in 2009 following a long battle with cancer.

The Pier Rat Challenge was first held to raise money to help with Smith’s medical bills and has since become a treasured annual event in his memory.

Local surfers from San Clemente, Capo Beach, Dana Point and San Juan Capistrano made quite an impression, taking 26 trophies collectively.


Key: San Clemente=SC, Dana Point=DP, Capistrano Beach=CB, San Juan Capistrano=SJC

MICRO GROM BOYS/GIRLS SB U9: 1. Bane Corbett, SC; 2. Curran Stagg, Carlsbad; 3. Ty Spencer, Carlsbad; 4. Ethan Prestage, Huntington Beach; 5. Dane Matson, SC; 6. Logan Crossan, SC.

BOYS/GIRLS U10: 1. Jett Schilling, SC; 2. Nicholas Coli, SC; 3. Patrick O’Connor, SJC; 4. Raiki Nishida, Irvine; 5. Tommy Kelly, Carlsbad; 6. Bane Corbett, SC.

BOYS U12: 1. Zach McCormick, Encinitas; 2. Griffin Foy, Fullerton; 3. Ryan Martin, SC; 4. Jett Schilling, SC; 5. Caleb Crozier, Encinitas; 6. Ethan Mudge, CB.

BOYS U14: 1. Griffin Foy, Fullerton; 2. Noah Hohenester, SC; 3. Sean Woods, Thousand Oaks; 4. Jeff Knell, Santa Barbara; 5. Gunner Day, SC; 6. Tanner Ford, San Diego.

BOYS U16: 1. Blake Dresner, Encinitas; 2. Conner Dand, SC; 3. Kody Clemens, Carlsbad; 4. Nathan Young, Fountain Valley; 5. Brennan Aubol, Carlsbad; 6. Nick Melanson, Mission Viejo.

BOYS U18: 1. Noah Collins, Manhattan Beach; 2. Preston Dexter, Newport Beach; 3. Jordan Kudla, SC; 4. Jason Belgau, San Diego; 5. Jay Christenson, San Diego; 6. Vinny Leonelli, Goleta.

GIRLS U12: 1. Tiare Thompson, La Jolla; 2. Bryce Ava Wettstein, Encinitas; 3. Alyssa Spencer, Carlsbad; 4. Lexi Morgan, SC; 5. Samantha Sibley, SC; 6. Kirra Pinkerton, SC.

GIRLS U14: 1. Meah Collins, Costa Mesa; 2. Tiare Thompson, La Jolla; 3. Alexxa Elseewi, SC; 4. Sidney Johnson, Carlsbad; 5. Tera Richardson, CB; 6. Olivia Nattrass, Cardiff by the Sea.

GIRLS U16: 1. Meah Collins, Costa Mesa; 2. Juli Hernandez, Costa Mesa; 3. Rachel Tominaga, Manhattan Beach; 4. Malia Osterkamp, SC; 5. Avalon Johnson, Carlsbad; 6. Kirra Connolly, SC.

GIRLS U18: 1. Samantha Lamirand, Cardiff by the Sea; 2. Meah Collins, Costa Mesa; 3. Lulu Erkeneff, DP; 4. Malia Osterkamp, SC; 5. Jordan Wible, Manhattan Beach; 6. Juli Hernandez, Costa Mesa.

BOYS LONGBOARD U14: 1. Trevor Anderberg, Encinitas; 2. Koby Gilchrist, Encinitas; 3. Zane Booth, Santa Barbara; 4. West Adler, Los Angeles; 5. Owen Fisher, Laguna Beach; 6. Matthew Hahn, Torrance.

JR. LONGBOARD U18: 1. Ricky Cunningham, San Diego; 2. Lucas Foster, Carlsbad; 3. Austin Sonnier, San Diego; 4. Nick Anderberg, Encinitas; 5. Marco Colombatto, SC; 6. Tim Donald, Newport Beach.

GIRLS LONGBOARD U14: 1. Lexi Morgan, SC; 2. Hayden Rouse, Huntington Beach.

GIRLS LONGBOARD U18: 1. Emmy Lombard, SC; 2. Lulu Erkeneff, DP; 3. Frankie Seely, Topanga; 4. Maddie LoMonaco, Santa Monica; 5. Kyla Kelley, CB; 6. Teresa O’Connor, SJC.

MEN 18-29: 1. Sean Johnson, Canyon Country; 2. Ricky Lovato, SC; 3. Reno Nascimiento, Torrance; 4. Jacob Harmon, Burbank; 5. Brett Turner, Cardiff by the Sea.

MASTERS 30-39: 1. Paul Pugliesi, Oceanside; 2. Vincent Duprat, Encinitas; 3. Logan Andresen, Malibu; 4. Quintin Macklin, San Diego; 5. John Corning, Oceanside; 6. Ryan Glotfelty, Oxnard.

SENIOR MEN 40-49: 1. Pedro Diaz Rangel, Oceanside; 2. Mike Estrada, Costa Mesa; 3. Lance Albright, Huntington Beach; 4. Mike Golithon, Costa Mesa; 5. Rusty White, Los Angeles; 6. Chris Munsterman, San Diego.

LEGENDS 50+: 1. Javier Huarcaya, Oceanside; 2. Tyler Callaway, San Diego; 3. Dale Baker, SC; 4. Mike Corica, Cardiff by the Sea; 5. Rick Fignetti, Huntington Beach; 6. Dave Hansberry, Los Alamitos.

OPEN MEN: 1. Sean Johnson, Canyon Country; 2. Cody Canzoneri, SC; 3. Paul Pugliesi, Oceanside; 4. Chris Munsterman, San Diego; 5. Quintin Macklin, San Diego; 6. Chris Finck, Pacific Palisades.

OPEN WOMEN: 1. Heather Jordan, Oceanside; 2. Meah Collins, Costa Mesa; 3. Samantha Lamirand, Cardiff by the Sea; 4. Lulu Erkeneff, DP; 5. Janelle Ferris, Westminster; 6. Kassy Eldridge, SC.

OPEN MEN LONGBOARD: 1. Ricky Cunningham, San Diego; 2. Cody Canzoneri, SC; 3. Austin Sonnier, San Diego; 4. Lucas Foster, Carlsbad; 5. Shea Roney, Leucadia; 6. KeKai Kamai, Irvine.

OPEN WOMEN’S LONGBOARD: 1. Lulu Erkeneff, DP; 2. Kyla Kelley, CB; 3. Maddie LoMonaco, Santa Monica; 4. Sierra Gasperoni, Trabuco Canyon.

SR. MEN LONGBOARD 40+: 1. Lance Albright, Huntington Beach; 2. Bill Hinchiff, Huntington Beach; 3. Jay Boldt, Huntington Beach; 4. Pablo Fernandez, Rancho Cucamonga; 5. Marc Laulhere, Orange.

ADAPTIVE SURFERS: 1. Devin Eshelman, San Diego.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>