The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Results: National Scholastic Surfing Association Southwest Explorer 2013, Event No. 10, May 5, San Diego, Pacific Beach, Crystal Pier


1. Remy Juboori, La Jolla; 2. Jacob Szekely, La Jolla.

JUNIORS: 1. Hiroto Oohara, Chiba, Japan; 2. Takumi Yasui, Saitama, Japan; 3. Jake Marshall, Encinitas; 4. Ethan Carlston, San Clemente; 5. Soichiro Yuki, Tokushima, Japan; 6. Bryce Marino, Huntington Beach.

BOYS: 1. Jake Marshall, Encinitas; 2. Will Reid, Palos Verdes Estates; 3. Nick Marshall, Encinitas; 4. Nicholas Holdman, Poway; 5. Sean Purbaugh, San Diego.

MENEHUNE: 1. Tyler Gunter, Newport Beach; 2. Dagan Stagg, Carlsbad; 3. Kade Matson, San Clemente; 4. Dylan Hord, Huntington Beach; 5. Ben Seaberry, Huntington Beach; 6. Nick Marshall, Encinitas.

SUPER GROMS: 1. Jett Schilling, San Clemente; 2. Kade Matson, San Clemente; 3. Keanu Igarashi, Huntington Beach; 4. Taro Watanabe, Malibu; 5. Kai McPhillips, San Clemente; 6. Connor Marshall, Encinitas.

WOMEN: 1. Momoko Miyasaka, Japan; 2. Malia Osterkamp, San Clemente; 3. Tiare Thompson, La Jolla; 4. Madeleine Camargo, Huntington Beach; 5. Maddie Gumbrecht, Huntington Beach.

GIRLS: 1. Malia Osterkamp, San Clemente; 2. Tiare Thompson, La Jolla; 3. Malia Faramarzi, Encinitas; 4. Samantha Cendro, Huntington Beach; 5. Madeleine Camarago, Huntington Beach; 6. Makena Perez, Carlsbad.

MASTERS: 1. Rick Takahashi, San Diego; 2. Ed Custudio, San Diego; 3. Eric Sorensen, Long Beach.

SENIORS: 1. Rick Takahashi, San Diego; 2. Eric Sorensen, Long Beach.

SUPER SENIORS: 1. Mike Glevy, San Diego; 2. Rick Fignetti, Huntington Beach; 3. Jim Ferguson, Santa Rosa; 4. Lee Toresdahl, Huntington Beach.

DUKE: 1. Rick Fignetti, Huntington Beach; 2. Terry Carmadella, Huntington Beach; 3. Peter Townend, San Clemente; 4. Jim Ferguson, Santa Rosa.

LONGBOARD: 1. Larry Schlick, Long Beach.

PERFORMERS OF THE EVENT: Hiroto Oohara; Jake Marshall; Malia Osterkamp; Jett Schilling

2013 SOUTHWEST CONFERENCE EXPLORER CHAMPIONS: Remy Juboori-Men; Bryce Marino-Juniors; Jake Marshall-Boys; Dagan Stagg-Menehune; Kade Matson-Super Groms; Malia Osterkamp-Women; Malia Osterkamp-Girls; Rick Takahashi-Masters; Rick Takahashi-Seniors; Rick Fignetti-Super Seniors; Rick Fignetti Duke; Larry Schlick-Longboard; Tom Linn-Kneeboard.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>