The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.


By Andrea Swayne

City Council on Tuesday interviewed prospective Arts and Culture Commissioners to fill seats open due to expiring terms of three commissioners. The trio of seats was awarded to Kimberly Williams and incumbents Nancy Jenkins and Karin Schnell.

The terms of commissioners Janie Raub, Jenkins and Schnell expired on June 30. Jenkins and Schnell reapplied; Raub did not.

The terms of the other two commissioners on the five-member body, Judith Nowland and Berenika Schmitz, are set to expire on June 30, 2017.

Initially 14 applications were received during the April 16 to May 15 recruitment period but three applicants—Brittany Casey, Mark Rosen and Kathy Wiltse—have since pulled their names from the list.

Prospective commissioners were Bob Russell, Michael “Mac” McDonald, Nicholas “Nick” St. George, Marta Riojas, Kimberly Williams, Anthony “Tony” Small, Martin Chokany, Ann Schultz, Lynn Smith, Jenkins and Schnell.

The commission was created in 2011 to act as an advisory board to the City Council in regard to aesthetic, artistic and cultural matters.

The commission meets quarterly on the third Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m. in City Hall Council Chambers.





Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>