The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Tri-city surfers take home 34 trophies at Western Surfing Association Event No. 1

A crowd gathered Sunday at San Onofre State Park, Trail 6 for the grom divisions award presentation at the Western Surfing Association 2014-2015 season opener. Photo: Andrea Swayne
A crowd gathered Sunday at San Onofre State Park, Trail 6 for the grom divisions award presentation at the Western Surfing Association 2014-2015 season opener. Photo: Andrea Swayne

By Andrea Swayne

More than 400 amateur surfers kicked off the new season of the Western Surfing Association Championship Tour last weekend at San Onofre State Beach, Trail 6.

Thirty-four, hailing from Dana Point, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano, made their first podium appearances of the 2014-2015 tour, taking home trophies in 17 of 27 divisions at event No. 1, held on Aug. 3 and 4.

“Despite a little bit of rain, high humidity and hot weather, we had good waves and good vibes all around,” said WSA Executive Director MaryLou Drummy. “It was nice to see so many new faces. What a great start to the new season and we’re really happy to see the tour continuing to grow.”

With nearly 450 entries, including those surfing in multiple divisions, sign-ups were up 20 percent over last year’s season opener.

Division winners from the tri-city area included Dana Point’s Ricky Fodor in Junior Longboard U18 and siblings Sawyer Lindblad and Taj Lindblad of San Clemente, in Micro Grom Girls U10 and Boys U12, respectively. Other first-place finishers, all from San Clemente, were Kirra Pinkerton in Girls U14, Malia Ward in Girls U18 and Kei Kobayashi in Open Men.

The season opener marked the introduction of a few changes to the division offerings. The Micro Grom U9 Push-in division, previously co-ed, was split into two, offering a separate platform for boys and girls. The girls division was expanded to U10. The Boys/Girls U10 shortboard division remains. A women’s 18+ shortboard division has been added, as well as Kahunas 60+ Shortboard and Women 18+ Shortboard. With the addition of Kahunas, the Legends division was changed from 50+ to 50-59.

Stop two on the WSA tour is set for Sept. 20 and 21 at Surfers Point in Ventura.

For more information on the series, visit

Results: WSA Championship Tour, Event No. 1, August 2-3, San Onofre State Park, Trail 6

First place and local finishers only. KEY: San Clemente=SC, Dana Point=DP, Capistrano Beach=CB, San Juan Capistrano=SJC.

MICRO GROM BOYS U9: 1. Eli Park, Carlsbad.

MICRO GROM GIRLS U10: 1. Sawyer Lindblad, SC; 2. Bella Kenworthy, DP; 4. Sierra Downer, SC.

BOYS/GIRLS U10: 1. Hayden Rodgers, Laguna Beach; 4. Kade Matson, SC; 5. Bryce Pinkerton, SC.

BOYS U12: 1. Taj Lindblad, SC; 4. Dax McPhillips, SC.

BOYS U14: 1. Griffin Foy, Fullerton; 2. Kade Matson, SC; 5. Ethan Mudge, CB.

BOYS U16: 1. Brock Crouch, Carlsbad; 3. Curran Dand, SC; 6. Noah Hohenester, SC.

BOYS U18: 1. William Pickett, Tahiti, French Polynesia; 3. Kei Kobayashi, SC.

GIRLS U12: 1. Alyssa Spencer, Carlsbad.

GIRLS U14: 1. Kirra Pinkerton, SC; 4. Samantha Sibley, SC.

GIRLS U16: 1. Tiare Thompson, La Jolla; 4. Cameron Duby, SJC; 5. Samantha Sibley, SC.

GIRLS U18: 1. Malia Ward, SC; 3. Samantha Sibley, SC; 5. Cameron Duby, SJC.

BOYS LONGBOARD U14: 1. Koby Gilchrist, Encinitas; 3. Patrick O’Connor, SJC; 4. Jimmy Wynne, SC; 5. Hayden Millerick, SC.

JR. LB U18: 1. Ricky Fodor, DP; 3. Jared Bernier, SC.

GIRLS LB U14: 1. Liv Stokes, Aliso Viejo; 4. Lexi Morgan, SC; 5. Izzy Hopkins, DP.

GIRLS LB U18: 1. Taylor Bruynzeel, Newbury Park; 2. Teresa O’Connor, SJC; 4. Cameron Duby, SJC.

MEN 18-29: 1. Evan Sandison, Laguna Niguel.

MASTERS 30-39: 1. Paul Pugliesi, Oceanside.

SENIOR MEN 40-49: 1. Neil Bern, Carlsbad.

WOMEN 18+: 1. Chelsea Roett, Barbados.

LEGENDS 50-59: 1. Rusty Phillipy, Cardiff; 2. Masaki Kobayashi, SC.

KAHUNAS 60+: 1. John Silver, Carlsbad.

OPEN MEN: 1. Kei Kobayashi, SC; 6. Luca Aza, SC.

OPEN WOMEN: 1. Maya Saulino, San Marcos; 4. Allie Frost, SJC; 5. Malia Ward, SC.

OPEN MEN LB: 1. Koby Gilchrist, Encinitas.

OPEN WOMEN LB: 1. Isabella Gilchrist, Cardiff by the Sea; 6. Izzy Hopkins, DP.

SR. MEN LB 40+: 1. Lance Albright, Huntington Beach.

ADAPTIVE SURFERS: 1. Charles Webb, Oceanside.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>