The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.


Our 2018 City Council election comprises of a very important change. Dana Point is now a districted city in which only residents in Districts 1, 2, and 3 will be able to vote for a city council representative.

I attended the candidate forums and learned that though each district may have a particular issue that’s most important to its residents, each district’s residents have common concerns. Residents have been ill-served by council incumbents and former councilmembers in districts 1, 2, and 3 with regard to Dana Point’s most pressing issues. To name but a few: deficit spending so that now the city must access its cash reserves; promoting a short-term rental policy with which many residents disagree as per the successful resident signature drive to overturn it; not enough action on the proliferation of unlicensed sober living homes; implemented changes to the Town Center plan regarding parking to benefit developers and harm residents.

I hope you’ll agree that Dana Point needs councilmembers who will consider the needs of residents first. Messrs. Joe Jaeger, Mark McGinn, and Charles Payne are the candidates with our best interests at the fore.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>