The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By Kristina Pritchett

Four Dana Point residents have pulled nomination paperwork to begin the election process, according to Dana Point City Clerk.

City Clerk Kathy Ward said residents Nadia Khalil and Debra Lewis have pulled the paperwork along with Penny Maynard and Paul Wyatt.

Ward said as of Wednesday afternoon no one has filed any of the election paperwork.

Councilmen Carlos Olvera and Scott Schoeffel’s seats are up for the general election. Olvera is the only one of the two who would be able to re-run since Schoeffel has served two terms.

Candidates must be registered voters of the city of Dana Point at the time nomination papers are issued. Candidates may be nominated by registered voters between July 18 at 5 p.m. until Aug. 12. Candidate information packets and nomination papers may be obtained from the City Clerk’s office at Dana Point City Hall.

If any incumbent has not filed nomination papers by Friday, Aug. 12, at 5 p.m., the nomination period will be extended to Wednesday, Aug. 17 at 5:30 p.m.

For more information, or to schedule an appointment, contact Kathy Ward, City Clerk, at 949.248.3505. The deadline to file is Friday, Aug. 12 at 5 p.m. at Dana Point City Hall.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>