The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By Kristina Pritchett

Five names will appear on the ballot this November for Dana Point City Council.

According to the city clerk’s office, Penny Maynard, Paul Wyatt, Nadia Khalil, Debra Lewis and Michelle Brough will be running for two open seats on the Council.

Councilmen Carlos Olvera and Scott Schoeffel will not be running again. Schoeffel is unable to run due to serving two terms previously. Olvera recently said he would not seek re-election.

Dana Point residents Berenika Schmitz and Nick St. George pulled nomination paperwork, but did not file before the deadline, officials from the clerk’s office said.

The Dana Point Times will begin the election coverage next week with introductions to each of the candidates.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>