The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Members of the Dana Outrigger Canoe Club paddle on the open water. Courtesy photo
Members of the Dana Outrigger Canoe Club paddle on the open water. Courtesy photo

By Steve Breazeale

After claiming the prestigious Iron Man Perpetual Trophy for being the most consistent outrigger canoe club on the year, the Dana Outrigger teams looked to a little home cooking to keep the momentum going at the back end of their season.

The Dana Outrigger Canoe Club hosted dozens of the best canoe clubs in the area at the 43rd installment of the Whitey Harrison 9-Man Outrigger Classic on August 10. The race started in Dana Point Harbor and traveled north to Main Beach in Laguna Beach.

Throughout the season the Dana Outrigger teams have been battling with Lanakila Outrigger Canoe Club out of Redondo Beach and at the Whitey Harrison Classic, the story was much of the same. Several Dana Outrigger teams battled with Lanakila groups for the top spots in their divisions.

The Dana Outrigger women’s unlimited team finished second in their race, just 15 seconds behind Lanakila. The Dana men’s unlimited team race was even closer, as they finished just five seconds behind Lanakila and one second behind Newport Aquatic Center for a third-place finish.

The club’s women’s senior and golden masters teams ran away with their respective divisions, as the senior masters team finished the 20-mile race in a time of 3:14:31 and the golden masters finished with a winning time of 3:20:37. The men’s senior masters and golden masters teams each finished second.

The co-ed open unlimited Dana Outrigger team won their division.

The Oceanside 9-man race is on tap next for the Dana Outrigger Club. They will travel south for the competition on August 24.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>