The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

DP city logoBy Kristina Pritchett

City Council approved the two open Council seats for the November 8 election.

The two seats are currently held by Council members Carlos Olvera and Scott Schoeffel.

Olvera was elected to the Council in 2012, and would be able to run again, but Schoeffel has been on the Council since 2008, and has reached the maximum terms allowed for each member.

Council members Joe Muller, John Tomlinson and Richard Viczorek were elected in 2014 and will remain on Council.

Candidates who wish to file for elections can do so starting on July 18 and will have until August 12.

During the public portion of the meeting, Dana Point resident Penny Maynard told Council she would be running for one of the open seats.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (1)

  • The writer is assuming that Joe Muller, John Tomlinson and Richard Viczorek won’t be recalled.
    Not many are happy with these puppets of developers. So that is an assumption that I would not make.

comments (1)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>