The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the DP Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Photo Gallery

By Andrea Swayne

The Dana Point Chamber of Commerce inducted their new board of directors for 2015 and honored the business, ambassador and citizen of the year, Jan. 29 at their Annual Meeting and Installation Dinner, at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa.

An audience of about 200 dined and listened as outgoing Chairwoman Lauralyn Loynes gave a recap of the chamber’s many successes in 2014, including the creation of the Doheny Village Task Force and Shop Del Prado, a program created in concert with the city to support businesses during Lantern District revitalization.

Following Loynes’ speech, she handed off the gavel to incoming Chairman Enzo Scognamiglio.

“Our goal is to become even more engaged with our members and work even harder for you,” said Scognamiglio,” to the crowd, as he spoke of his plans for the coming year.

The Ambassador of the Year award went to Richard Deffenbaugh—owner of Dana Point Auto and a chamber member since 1971—for leading the chamber’s scholarship fund, among many other volunteer efforts. Nancy Jenkins was honored as Citizen of the Year for her extensive involvement in numerous community volunteer efforts, including her outreach work for the Dana Point 5th Marine Regiment Support Group. Business of the Year honors were bestowed upon Elaine LaVine, of State Farm Insurance, whose recognition included kudos for her company’s involvement with Dana Hills High School, Relay for Life and the chamber.

A committee of former awardees is tasked each year with selecting the citizen and business of the year. Ambassador of the Year is chosen by fellow ambassadors.

The new board will hold its first official meeting on Wednesday

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Dana Point Times

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>